What is Comic-Con or Comicon?

Serena Cornwall
3 min readNov 8, 2023

--

Whenever I’m asked, “What is Comic Con?” I find it hard to describe. But I will try.

Whenever I’m asked, “What is Comic Con?” I find it hard to describe.

So I turned to Google and landed on dictionary.com, where it stands described like this:

Comic-Con is a convention (con, for short) focused on comic books and related forms of pop culture entertainment, including movies, TV shows, and video games.

(Want to read the whole text click here).

That’s different from the way I would have explained it. But I’ll try to explain it from my point of view: It is a place where creativity meets business. Fans and creators unite to share their interests in comics, movies, and more. It is always a very creative and energetic environment.

@Serena Cornwall
Serena Cornwall

Every time I enter a comic con, my eyes fly around the place. I act like a child who sees the world for the first time, when it has opened its eyes in the morning.

I want to see everything! The moment I step inside the building, I make an extensive scan and then make a plan efficiently to explore the environment, which can be unpleasant for the rest of the group if they have a different strategy.

@Serena Cornwall

These events occur a few times yearly, but we aim for at least two visits annually. What I appreciate about these events is that each Comic-Con is unique; no two events are alike.

The more significant events are usually held outside major cities in huge warehouses, while smaller ones occur in sports arenas. I prefer the bigger ones, so I can move around without bumping into people or standing in lines.

I’ve been attending Comic Cons for a few years, and each event has been a different and positive experience.

Serena Cornwall

One of the things that I always look forward to is meeting new authors and the last time, I was thrilled to find several authors in different booths. Some of them were shy at first, but they all loved talking about their books, and of course, I had to buy a couple of books from them that they were pleased to sign.

While I enjoy exploring booths and interacting with authors, some friends and family prefer attending the shows. Many attendees dress up as their favorite movie characters and participate in stage shows, ranging from reenacting movie scenes to showcasing their creations.

There was even a wrestling match at the latest Comic-Con, drawing a large crowd. Something that I am not particularly interested in. But I like that they have something for everyone to enjoy.

Looking forward to the next one.

Serena

--

--